The Mysterious Art of Painting and the Tree of Life

sacred geometry tree of lifeSometimes I  wonder how the paintings I paint finally emerge into the world.  It’s a back and a forth, a finding and a losing; ultimately there’s an image that remains. Later I ask myself  “Where did that come from?”  At times I feel I’m a channel through which these images flow.  I always have to remind myself to sign my paintings, as I’m never sure that they are truly “mine”.

I recently finished a painting which illustrates the mystery in which a painter can find herself.  After the painting, The Olive Tree, sold I went into mini-mourning, feeling it’s absence in my home.  A new tree called to me, the Tree of Life.

I dove into this painting.  Not sure what form it would take, I first envisioned it as full, full, full of foliage. And so it started .  But soon after, I felt the need to lose much of the foliage, anguishing that I was letting go of painting a tree of life.  Then I added the Seed of Life embedded underneath the middle of the tree

More foliage was lost and the stylized leaves made their appearance.  By this time I was in an unstoppable rhythm.  With each new color or form I added to the painting, it spoke to me, telling me what was needed next.  Once again the thought “what would would make this a Tree of Life” surfaced within my rhythm.

The Tree of Life is one of the most ancient symbols of the awareness of the one source, the descent of the divine into the manifest world, and methods by which the divine union may be attained in this life.  It symbolizes unity and love. The structure of the Tree of Life is connected to the sacred teachings of the Jewish Kabbalah but can be seen 3,000 years earlier in Egypt, as well as being found in Christianity, Hermeticism and Paganism.

I decided to do an internet search for a Sacred Geometry symbol for the Tree of Life.

Flower of Life

Seed of Life

Kabbalah Tree of Life

The symbol of the Tree of Life is derived from the Flower of Life. It is composed by highlighting ten  centers of the circles of the Flower of Life and the Seed of Life.  Along with the Seed of Life, it is believed to be part of the geometry that parallels the cycle of the fruit tree. This relationship is implied when these two forms are superimposed onto each other.

A quick sketch of these two forms together and I was back at my easel.  I added the circles that make up the Tree of Life in the correct places on the Seed of Life, whose further expansion implies the Flower of Life.   I stepped back from my canvas in amazement.  The branches of the tree in my painting were crossing intersection points, the circle centers, on the Seed of Life, exactly where the Tree of Life circles were added.

sacred geometry tree of lifeOnce again I asked myself, who is really in charge here.  Without consciously knowing what I was doing I had already positioned this tree correctly to be a true Sacred Geometry Tree of Life.  Very mysterious, wouldn’t you say?

25 responses to “The Mysterious Art of Painting and the Tree of Life

  1. hello,

    I am belgian and i organize trainings for Neuro-linguistic programming
    i would like to take your tree of live for a publicity.

    Are you ok with that?

    Thank you for your answer.
    Have a nice day.

    Bénédicte Mairy

    • Hello Benedicte Mairy, I do ask people who want to use my images for publicity to pay a one-time $25 royalty fee. I get these request frequently and the small fee does help support me and allow me to continue to create more work. You can go to my facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/judithshaw2 and we can discuss this more via fb private message.

      Thanks for your appreciation and understanding.
      Judith

  2. hi judith

    i m jenny from malaysia. i hope to connect with u in this soul searching journey thru art.
    God Bless.

    Jenny Chan

  3. I think I’ve found the tattoo design I’ve been looking for for years

  4. Are you selling prints of this?

  5. Hi,
    I came across your lovely art on Facebook and wanted to say, what wonderful pieces you’ve created. I love them all. Fabulous!
    Are you on LinkedIn?
    Thank you.
    Gillian.

  6. Hi Gillian, Thanks for appreciating. I am on linkedin though I’m not very active with it….. If only there were more hours in a day I could get everything done which needs to be done (like even more time spent on social networking). Do you find linkedin to be helpful?

  7. Sadly I am not any kind of.artist.
    .But I’ve had this happen in many other aspects of my life. wanted to say thank you for putting it in black and white😉

  8. Judith, I think this painting is beautiful. Would you allow me to post it as a header for a blog post I am writing for a nonprofit organization called the Pachamama Alliance: http://www.pachamama.org/advocacy. Our work is to protect the Amazon rainforest and to work toward a most just and sustaiable future. The blog post I’m currently writing is about humans’ intimate connections with trees. I would attribute the artwork to you by linking back to your website within the blog post. Please let me know if this would be ok with you.

    Thanks!

    Jocelyn

  9. Pingback: Trees Speak to the Soul of Human Beings ~ 7/2/2015 ~

  10. Pingback: People and Trees: Intimately Connected Through the Ages | New Beginnings Guatemala

  11. Pingback: People and Trees: Intimately Connected Through the Ages | magick millenial

  12. Hi Judith, I sent you a private Facebook message about permission to use your Tree of Life image. Hope to hear from you soon.

  13. Pingback: Vibrant Days – September 2015 | Candy Crawford LCSW

  14. Pingback: The 12:12 Gateway of 2015 ~ Kara Schallock ~ 8 December 2015 | ronaldwederfoort

  15. Hi, Judith, I love your image with the Flower of Life behind the Tree of Life. I’m doing a series of large collaborative murals called Singing Trees and I would like to borrow your design to make the Monkey Puzzle Singing Tree of Radical Love and Social Imagination. I wanted to honor your fantastic design by asking your permission. With high regards, Laurie Marshall

  16. Absolutely beautiful! I’m a student of cabala for many years, and I have seen many representations of the Tree. I have drawn it myself, several times, and that is a meditation in sacred geometry in itself. I love they way you have brought nature and geometry together. Please send me a link to your print shop. Thanks.

  17. Pingback: Άνθρωποι και δένδρα: ένας στενός διαχρονικός σύνδεσμος | Δασαρχείο

  18. Pingback: People and Trees: Intimately Connected Through the Ages | Redwolf's Remarks

Leave a Reply

