Follow Your Heart

seed of life

Guardians of the Seed, gouache on paper

Recently I’ve been praying and meditating for guidance from my higher self.  I’m seeking an answer to what is the best path to take right now in regards to creating a comfortable living for myself.  Of course the only thing I want to do is pursue my art; but then that seems so impractical.

For the past year and a half I’ve been receiving unemployment. My contract as an art teacher was not renewed by a very abusive principal. We all know that the situation in education has gone from bad to worse , especially for art, so that door is currently closed.

During this time, I have applied for many, many jobs, gotten a few interviews, but landed no work.  Whenever not looking for a job, I was focusing on painting and creating an online presence of my art.

So now I’m back to substitute teaching, which is neither very satisfying or secure, but does offer flexibility.

the labirynth

Journey Thru the Labyrinth, oil on canvas

I continue to consider other options which might be more financially lucrative.

I had thought I’d go back to teaching English as a Second Language abroad.  There’s good money to be made in the East and an exciting experience to be had.  But when push came to shove I just couldn’t do it.  I knew it would have been very disruptive to both creating art and to getting my art into the world.

My mind has raced along in various streams of anxiety as the summer approaches and schools close.  I could develop this career or that, open this business or that.  Yet I always come back to the fact that – Yes, I could do it and probably succeed, but the time commitment involved would almost end my art pursuits.

As I’ve prayed for guidance from my higher self, I realize that I have been getting small and subtle messages, all of which point to maintaining my focus on art.  Then a few days ago the message came in loud and clear.  I was thinking about the art classes I now offer; that I need to attract more students.  So my thoughts went to redesigning the flyer.  An image came flying into my mind’s eye with big bold words that said –

ART, ART, ART
FOLLOW YOUR HEART

 beat of a different drummer

She Walks to the Beat of a Different Drummer, gouache on paper

Now if that isn’t a message then I don’t know what is.  To FOLLOW MY HEART, To BE IN THE NOW, to TRUST IN THE UNIVERSE allows an opening to the divine flow.

I think it’ll make a good flyer for art classes too – don’t you?

3 responses to “Follow Your Heart

  1. I think the image..and the words..are BEAUTIFUL:)

  2. I was reading your bio and can’t believe how much we have in common…After 20 years in the corporate world, dealing with an eating disorder that I still battle..I’m blessed that I landed in New Mexico. All this beautiful art and great people:) And as far as pursuing your art – I don’t think it’s impractical at all..I say – go for it!

    • Hi Leslie,
      Yes it’s amazing that since I’ve made this decision I feel extremely calm. Finally I believe that I can succeed being true to myself.

Leave a Reply

