Exploring the Tree of Life symbol – “The Mother Tree”

This painting, which is another exploration the Tree of Life symbol is almost finished, but I thought I’d post the stages it’s been going through.  I started it on top of an old painting which I decided didn’t really work and wasn’t worth saving.  Usually when I work on top of an old painting I finish the painting more quickly – I guess because it starts off with the texture from the old painting

inanna in the underworld

An old painting from my Inanna series

a painting in progress

Day one painting on top of the old painting

a painting in progress

Day two - had the irresistible urge to put a tree behind the squares

Day 4

Day 5 - getting still more defined

One response to “Exploring the Tree of Life symbol – “The Mother Tree”

  1. Well, I have just read your blog for the first time and I thought this illustration of the progress of a painting was really interesting. Also, I love the painting of the trees (earlier blog ) and the discussion about trees including the geometric shapes and their significance.

Leave a Reply

