Matter infused by spirit

Today, while painting, I had a very wonderful feeling about the materials as I worked.   Sometimes oil paint can feel like very heavy stuff to manipulate on the canvas.   But today , as I laid a little bit of yellow into some deep purple, it seemed to move on its own.   Then I had this thought, “the pigments come from the earth, the medium comes from plants (linseed oil) and trees (turpentine) and the brushes are made from trees and hair or plant fibers.  It’s all alive.  It’s all connected.  I am like a channel using these tools from the earth, allowing something very deep and beyond words to flow through me and out onto the canvas.  Painting continues to be an important part of my spiritual journey.   Today was a high point on that journey.

the labyrinth keeps us on the path of the heart, ever moving to the center and returning to the external.

the labyrinth keeps us on the path of the heart, ever moving to the center and returning to the external.

3 responses to “Matter infused by spirit

  1. wow! hope you’ll be posting more examples of your spiritual art. it is the thing that moves me more than almost anything else.

    Alex Grey: one of my biggest heroes 🙂

    love, and blessings.

  2. Kristin Summerlin

    Hi… One of your fellow smARTists here… I wanted to see how you approached beginning your blog, and I love that you just jumped right in.

    I also love what you wrote. I work in metals, but my work is definitely a transfer of energy, and the silver or copper does sometimes feel as if it has a life of its own, and a desire to move in a different direction. Some days, it just won’t be pushed, prodded or pounded the way I want, but if I stop and wait, I can sense a better way!

    Great job. (Love labyrinths, and yours in particular.)

  3. Congrats on the new blog! It looks great. I hope the path continues to lead you forward.

    Laura
    (A fellow smARTist)

Leave a Reply

